Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I trace her jaw line hoping not to wake her. I want to freeze this frame, rewind just enough, and live forever in this moment. The reality is we can’t. Well screw that because that’s not good enough for me. I’m so hopelessly lost, lost in the thought that despite this very moment, we may never achieve this type of bliss again. See, I understand how fires are started, I just don’t see California forest fires anywhere. Besides, we live in fucking Idaho; Fuck Idaho.

I roll off our bed and grab my keys all quiet, not a single jingle. If I can’t have this moment forever, I sure as hell can try to extend it.

I come back with two coffees, cream and 3 sugars in hers, and two blueberry muffins. Her favorite. Duh.

She’s still passed out. I tiptoe over and push a few strands of hair out of her face. I kiss her forehead and she moves slightly, a smile peeks through.

“Morning.”

“Morning, I got the usual. You hungry?”

“Coffee first.”

She reaches out, the bracelet I got her dangles from her dainty wrist, and she touches my face.

“How did I get so lucky with you?”

“Good question, but first, how long does a forest fire last in California?”

